Behind the Name

Hi, I’m Lizzy Leblanc, and this is my blog. I’m not a witch (I promise!), and I don’t curse people. Why is it called Chamomile and Curses? Read on, and you shall see…

I live in the U.S., in the Ozarks to be more precise. I’m married, in my mid twenties, and I have no children except for my beloved fur baby, Sophie. She is a Red Heeler and the cutest animal you’ve ever seen. (Seriously, I’ll fight you on this). This picture is her whenDSC_0104 she was a baby. She’s two now, weighs 55 pounds, and still has some serious behavior issues (according to other people who don’t like getting jumped on), but I don’t really care. She’s perfect.

I have a bachelor’s degree in technical writing and my master’s degree in the same. I have mixed feelings about it. I love my job more than anybody has any business loving their job. I love having health insurance and benefits, and I love being social with coworkers. Still, within the next ten years I would love to branch out on my own and be a creative writer or a photographer. I like to write poetry (big bucks there, right?) and I’m starting to dabble in fiction. I’ve never had formal training in creative writing. I think that’d be a great place to start.

So, about the name. You thought I forgot, didn’t you? After pouting for half a day due to pms, I brought my husband over for a chat (read: whine session) on our green microfiber couch. He’s an amazing person and managed to distract me from my bad mood by helping me brainstorm blog title ideas. This had been a goal of mine for several days, even weeks. Nothing I had come up with had been good enough up to this point. I showed him a list of strange words on a yellow notepad like “exuberance” and “prolific,” and he especially enjoyed poking fun at me for scribbling the word “swirly” as an adjective for my collective life experience. “Swirly?! Really?! And you say you don’t want it to sound too much like a teenage blog?” he said. I had to admit that he was right.

I told him about a few blog names I admired and we narrowed down the type of ethos I wanted to project. Somehow, our chain of reasoning brought us to one of my favorite beverages, tea. And since I am a naturally anxious person, a cup of chamomile tea has certainly been in my mug before. Plus, chamomile tea is made of daisy-like plants. And that is like, cute and stuff.

I thought of the curses part as a necessary contrast. I wanted this blog to be a place where I can write whatever the heck I want. Yes, I do still want to provide value and interest and all that crap, but sometimes, gosh darn it, I want to just be me. 

On a more metaphorical level, the name Chamomile and Curses refers to my life in general. Sometimes I have the strength to take care of myself and take life with grace and tea, but sometimes I lose my head too. Sometimes I just want to let loose a string of curse words that would make a sailor blush. Normally, I censor myself a bit too much. I tend not to speak my mind. I think this blog will be a way for me to break that pattern (sans curse words).

Chamomile and Curses is about the balance between being peaceful and anxious. Angry and thankful. Hungry and satisfied. More than “curses” meaning cussing someone out, for this blog I want it to mean being honest when I feel like cursing something to the deepest level of Hell. I want it to mean that maybe I’ll be a bit more honest than usual.

With this honesty, however, I want the main purpose of this blog to always, always be uplifting. I believe in positive thinking. That doesn’t mean sugar-coating things. It means being honest and intentional about noticing the good and the bad, even when it is harder to notice the good.

The good. Chamomile. The bad. Curses.

Do you get it? I hope you do.

In case you are still confused, here’s a summary:

My blog is about me, Lizzy Leblanc, living my life, being creative, sharing my projects, hopes, and gripes, all while maintaining a positive outlook on life. Taking the chamomile along with the curses, and turning it into something beautiful.

And I’d love to take you on the journey with me.

Honestly,

Lizzy Leblanc
Leave a Reply

